Thursday, March 22, 2012


POS, Trinidad - Friday March 18, 2011 – The International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) is about to make a significant Milestone in the history of Caribbean and World Music, as the only Music Awards  to acknowledge and give accolades to world music entertainers for thirty years.Martin’s International and Associates, today in a in a special ceremony at the House of Angostura in Port of Spain, Trinidad revealed to the world the 2010 nominees in the 30th IRAWMA anniversary Awards Ceremony carded to take place in Trinidad in May.

Topping the list is Reggae music sensation Gyptian who is nominated in eight categories; followed by Trinidad and Tobago King of Soca, and recent winner of the Soca Monarch and Road March titles, Machel Montano who is nominated in seven categories. Also copping seven nods is Damian Marley, who toured extensively with US Rapper Nas. Reggae rhythm tag teamSly and Robbie received six nominations, while Vybz Kartel gained five. Other multiple nominees, includes: Jah Cure, Beenie Man, Elephant Man, I-Octane, JW and Blaze, Queen Ifrika, Shaggy, Rihanna, Nicki Minaj, Roy Cape, Romain Virgo, Tarrus Riley, Third World, Pitbull, Gramps Morgan, Kernel Roberts and Marcia Griffiths, among others.
The B-Mobile and Angostura sponsored 30th IRAWMA will be held on Saturday, May 28, 2011, at the National Academy of the Performing Arts (NAPA), in Port of Spain, Trinidad, visit The following day, Sunday, May 29, a grand concert celebration of the nominees and winners will take place at the Queens Park Savannah entitled “Reggae Meets Soca/Chutney”.
The prestigious awards extravaganza on May 28th at NAPA will feature indoor and outdoor stages, with massive video screens to allow patrons to view the action inside and outside. The location’s brilliantly transformed exterior will offer a platform where patrons can socialize, dance and party during the celebration and after the conclusion of the IRAWMA grand finale.  On Saturday May 28th 2011 IRAWMA will ignite the party capital of Port-Of-Spain. The awards ceremony and concert will officially begin at 8:00pm, however, media, regular VIP and general ticketholders can gain entry to the venue from 5:30pm. At 6:00pm the Red Carpet will be rolled out for VIP Platinum/V.VIP ticket holders and at 7:00pm the celebrities, nominees and special awardees will walk the Red Carpet.

IRAWMA goes beyond the realm of simply awarding and acknowledging Reggae/Jamaican music. The celebrated ceremony also continues to recognize our wealth of regional (Caribbean) talent as evidenced by this year’s supreme stock of nominees comprising individuals and acts which represent the Caribbean, African and Latin American Diaspora.

Most notably, this year more than thirty of the nominated entertainers/groups are from Trinidad and Tobago. T&T’s own Machel Montano who has walked away with top honours in the last three IRAWMA celebrations in New York is one of the top nominees for this 30th IRAWMA anniversary.  2011 also marks the addition of a new category for “Chutney” music. In this category the public votes internationally combined by the B-Mobile text to vote will determine the Chutney winner.
The 2010 nominees were revealed by, Ephraim Martin, MIA President, the sponsors B-Mobile- Mrs Rhonda Lee-Yhapp-; Angostura- Mr. Wayne YipChoy- CEO and Mrs Brenda Dela Rosa- Executive Manager Sales & Marketing; TrinJam Foods- Michael Nelson, Chicago’s Caribbean Radio DJ and Special Awardee Mike Sears. Caribbean and World Music fans throughout the globe can now vote for the winners by logging onto and voting for their best of 2010.
Nominees for Outstanding Contribution to World Music, includes musical legends: Steve Wonder, Paul Simon, Jimmy Cliff, Bela Fleck and Afrocubism. Vying for the Marcus Garvey Humanitarian Award are: R&B songstress Alicia Keys, Akon, Ziggy Marley, Shaggy and US Actor George Clooney. Special Awards: The IRAWMA Hall of Fame/Lifetime Inductees are:Mr. Joe Trouillot (Haiti). Cuban singer Silvio Rodriguez (Cuba)Earl “Chinna” Smith (Jamaica),Hon. Winston “Gypsy” Peters (T&T) and Isidore “Mighty Dow” York (St. Maarten) The Martin’s International Awards of Honor will be awarded to: Jamaican/American actressSheryl Lee Ralph, Trinidadian comedian Dennis “Sprangalang” Hall and Jamaican radio stationIrie FM. Other special Awardees in this category will be announced later. Awards for Contributions to the Music Industry (Music, Arts & Culture), will be given to: Busta Rhymes (NY), John Arnold (Tobago), Mario Russell (T&T), Dahved Levy- WBLS- FM, (Barbados/NY) and Mike Sears- WHPK- FM (Chicago).
The history making 30th IRAWMA anniversary is sponsored by B-Mobile -T&T’s number one mobile network and 
Angostura- the Caribbean’s leading liquor distributor; Hyatt Regency Trinidad, TrinJam Jamaican Food, and is supported by: The Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism, Ministry of Tourism and Tourism Development Company, Limited (TDC), Tobago House of Assembly (THA), Tobago Department of Tourism (TDT), Citadel, Ltd- Red 96.7 FM, 95.5FM, M.O.R.E. 104.7 FM, IRIE FM RADIO-Jamaica , CVM TV-Jamaica and others to beannounced.Visit

No comments:

Post a Comment